Nose bubbles???!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squirt58

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New York
I noticed when I took squirt out to give him his bath that he was wheezing a little and his one nostril was wet. I also noticed the on top of his eyes there was like a caked on crust. Any advice ?! He's in a 20 gln aquarium tank its 90 on the one side. He hides underneith his bridge and is on cypress bedding.

Spn785

5 Year Member
Mid-Missouri
Take him to a Vet, and raise the temps a little, sounds like he might have an respiratory infection, but I'm not an expert, hopefully one of those will be along soon.

Spn785

5 Year Member
Mid-Missouri
There is a list of good vets on here, just do a search for "Vet" and you'll see a thread that lists them by state.

oscar

10 Year Member!
Illinois
What kind of tortoise and how old. I would check the humidity of his enclosure. Make sure vet has knowledge Of dealing with tortoises my experience has been for them to say low on vit. A and give them a shot when that could do more harm than good.

lisa127

10 Year Member!
NE Ohio
I agree with oscar. Do not allow the vet to give a vit. A injection. I also agree with making sure the humidity is correct for the species.

mattgrizzlybear

10 Year Member!
NE Ohio
Sounds like your enclosure is too small. It needs to be bigger to allow a range of temps. You need more humidity and to take him to a vet if possible. He may have respitory infection.

Squirt58

5 Year Member
New York
He's just a baby maybe 5 months old so im keeping him in the aquarium to keep the humidity up it was about 65 before I left home and he's a sulcata.

mainey34

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
Bump temps up...what are your temps? They should be...basking...100-105.....warm...90......cool..80....humidity..80%