Status
Not open for further replies.

Franklin10

5 Year Member
Hey peeps Im new to the tortoise world I find them really cool I really got him for my son to grow up with, I thought it would be a really great companion for him. So I decided to get him one. I just got him/her today at the local pet shop, they told me its about a few months old since they said that im guessing its about 2/3 months old idk if its male or female... by the way its a sulcata tortoise about 2.5 inches really great tortoise...
so i have it set up on a 10 gallon tank for now and I have the basking spot lamp and the uvb fluorescent bulb with the sand looking thing at the bottom thats it. It would be really nice if you guys can help me out with as much info as possible it would be great thank you guys very much

Franklin10

5 Year Member
Marty333 said:
welcome to the forum!! I hope you know Sulcatas can grow to became over 100 punds and require a lot of care.

how long have you had your sulcata???

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Franklin10:

Welcome to the forum!!

I wish you had joined here prior to buying supplies at the pet store. It would really be better if you were to find a large Sterilite tub...something larger than 10 gallons. Little sulcatas wander a lot. Also its hard to get a temperature gradient in such a small aquarium. By that I mean, you want the temp directly under the light to be around 100 to 115 degrees. Then it gets cooler the farther away from the light that you place the thermometer, with it being about 75 or 80 on the side opposite the light. With a 10 gallon tank it would be hot all over the floor of the tank. Also, there a re a lot of things that need to be inside the habitat...waterer, food tile, hiding place or two, maybe an artificial plant. You can't get all that, plus still have room to walk, in a 10 gallon tank.