Newbie chimming in... Hello eveybody!!

TPayne12

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
West Jordan, Utah
Hi, everybody! I am a newbie to this forum - and a newbie at raising a young sulcata... I have a lot of questions, so I've been reading a ton of threads on this forum looking for the answers. So far, the answers I've found have been very helpful... but I can't seem to find anything that reassures me my lil' Sully Sulcata is on target with his growth, (weight and girth). Also, how active should a 1 1/2yr old sulcata be? Mine is out and about in his terrarium approx 30min/day, otherwise, he is sleeping in his hide. Any ideas, suggestions, opinions, comments or points in the right direction?

Sully's home is kept at 95°f - 100°f on the warm side, and 70°f -75°f on the cooler side. I'm using a MedZoo 150w ceramic infrared heat lamp, and a MedZoo UVA/UVB tube light. His light is on a timer, so, from 6:30am to 7:30pm the light is on. Heat is on 'round clock... but I'm wondering if I should be also shutting the heat off at night, as our house is kept at about 70°f at all times. He gets a warm 10-20min bath/soak 3-5 times/week. He has cuttlebone chunks and fresh food and water available to him at all times. Food is a mixture of Timothy, alfalfa, lawn clippings, (no chemicals, fertilizers, etc.) dandelions and Gourmet Tortoise Food. I also sprinkle his food with vitamins 2 times/week. He gets Aloe vera plant and destined prickly pear 2-3 times/month.

He is 1 1/2 - 2yrs old... not sure of exact age at time of purchase. He weighs just under 5oz and is about 3" from head to tail.

I love my lil' Sully Sulcata!! I want him to be happy and healthy - so I need to be sure I'm doing everything right that I can for him.

Attachments

• 20161116_171751.jpg
    20161116_171751.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 85
  • 20161116_171714.jpg
    20161116_171714.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 75
  • 20161116_171652.jpg
    20161116_171652.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 77
  • 20161116_171432.jpg