new to forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

normanshouse

5 Year Member
Hi All,

I'm interested in obtaining a Tortoise. I have no experience with them although I do have a great deal with turtles. My current residents include a six year old common snapper (big foot) and a five year old Alligator snapper (ally). Big foot has great personality and is gentle enough that he has visited my daughters grade school classroom where all the kids just loved him. Back to Tortoises, I have done a great deal of research on them and have narrowed it down to the Burmese Black/brown Mountain Tortoise (I prefer the eventual larger size of the adult), or the Black Greek Tortoises: Testudo graeca ibera. I love the Sulcata Tortoise, but after visiting and working with them a bit I think something a bit smaller would be on order. I own 50 acres in down state New York (near the PA border) and while summer time would not be a problem, the Tortoise would be in the house for the winters. If anyone has suggestions/comments please fell free !

Thanks

John

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). Research on here for lots of info. Lot of info out there is wrong or outdated.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi John, and welcome to the Forum!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. The Burmese mountain tortoises get darn near as big as some sulcatas. For your housing situation, I'd go with the greeks.

normanshouse

5 Year Member
Tom said:
Hello and welcome. The Burmese mountain tortoises get darn near as big as some sulcatas. For your housing situation, I'd go with the greeks.