new to forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnysd

5 Year Member
hello all, i stumbled upon this forum and decided i needed to join.
let me give a quick introduction to my history. i have a eastern hermanns tortoise that was given to me by my brother who was recently incarcerated. my brother and i were very close and he loved this tortoise. the tortoise's name is "Mr. 8". apparently he was the eighth one to hatch. anyways i've decided to adopt him and care for him while my brother is away. unfortunately i have no experience with tortoise. I've been reading a lot and i'm confused as to what to feed "Mr.8" on a daily basis. some say to feed dandelions and weeds and greens on a daily basis. but some books say to only feed the stuff occasionally. the guy at petsmart told me to feed him T-REx tortoise pellets or RepCal tortoise food.
heres my question, What can i feed "Mr.8" on a daily basis. i work about 12 hours a day so i don't have to much time to prepare food daily for him. i need something that i can prepare once a week and place it in the fridge and leave it out for him everymorning. the enclosure he has is pretty big. its been retrofitted as to not have him dig or climb out. i live in southern california so i was told the weather is perfect for him.
please help any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Las Vegas, NV
Hello and welcome to the forum Johnny and Mr. 8. you will get a lot of help on thus forum. Most people use spring mix from the grocery store with some other greens, but if you have the ability to let your tortoise graze outside then the grass and weeds and dandelions will work. I don't have a Hermann's but I dont use the tortoise pellets or any pellets from the pet store. Mazuri is a good thing. They are a lot of members who do own your particular tortoise and they will be able to help you more..

pdrobber

10 Year Member!