New Tank, New Hatchling, Cloudy Water

Teetertotter

Location (City and/or State)
Janesville, WI
I have a new Southern Painted Turtle that is one inch that is in the second day in his tank. The treated water was 2 days old and is now cloudy in 1-1/2 days. The tank is 30 X 13 X 13 with 10 gallons of water or 8" in depth. The water is NOT super cloudy. Turtle waste would not be an issue as hatchling and two day old treated water. I used Zilla water Conditioner with 5ml to 5 gallons of water per instructions. Maybe use 10ml to 5 gallons to take care of the tap water chemicals? Or empty 50% of the water and add new treated city tape water?

There is only an artificial tall leafy plant in the tank with Fluval U2 30 gal filter, heater, a floating basking dock, heater, UVB and heat lamps. I am open to suggestions. I am new to this game and your suggestions are welcomed.

counting

5 Year Member
Canada
I don't have turtles, but in a fish tank if you add an animal to a tank you will get clouded water unless the tank has already been cycled. It's the ammonia cycle starting, and the cloud you are seeing is the "bloom".
I'm not sure how that would affect a turtle.

Teetertotter

Janesville, WI
I have a new Southern Painted Turtle that is one inch that is in the second day in his tank. The treated water was 2 days old and is now cloudy in 1-1/2 days. The tank is 30 X 13 X 13 with 10 gallons of water or 8" in depth. The water is NOT super cloudy. Turtle waste would not be an issue as hatchling and two day old treated water. I used Zilla water Conditioner with 5ml to 5 gallons of water per instructions. Maybe use 10ml to 5 gallons to take care of the tap water chemicals? Or empty 50% of the water and add new treated city tape water?

There is only an artificial tall leafy plant in the tank with Fluval U2 30 gal filter, heater, a floating basking dock, heater, UVB and heat lamps. I am open to suggestions. I am new to this game and your suggestions are welcomed.

counting