New pancakes, how long before they start eating/acclimate?

elainelim

Hi guys,

I have a trio of pancakes that I just got yesterday. I know it takes time for them to acclimate and start eating, but how long does that take usually?

They are in an outdoor pen, where they get sun and shade at the same time, half the pen is under a roof. I also have a mercury vapour bulb to stand in when it is raining or cloudy.

Temps are regularly 80-90 in the afternoon sun, and 80 at night.
Humidity is 60-80% with 80 being in the mornings and nighttime.

Many crevices in wood and rocks for them to hide. The entire pen is planted with edible flaura.

So far, they have not nibbled or tried to eat any of the weeds and plants in their pen. I also provide chopped up bokchoy and mustard greens plus some of the weeds in their pen on a tray. No go for those either.

Heather H

Location (City and/or State)
N.E. ohio
If you go in the section on species specific there should be a care sheet. I'm a newbie but I see multiple recommendations on soaking when you first get them.

elainelim

If you go in the section on species specific there should be a care sheet. I'm a newbie but I see multiple recommendations on soaking when you first get them.

Well, I soaked them for about 10 minutes in tepid water, one took off at light speed, another took a drink, and another sat there for the entire time. While soaking them, I inspected the plants carefully and it seems like the torts are sampling the plant buffet. Nibbles everywhere, mostly on young shoots and the aspleniums.

So they might be eating after all.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Good, sounds like they needed hydrating too. So I would keep bathing regular.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield
Yep, Some even say every day. But every other day is good.