Mud turtle ?? keeps following my other mud around

Status
Not open for further replies.

emery22

5 Year Member
Hi, i have recently got some turtles 4 in total 2 are yellow bellied sliders (i think) and the other 2 are mud turtles from what i have researched online they are the closest i have found to what mine look like. The reason i dont know what species they are is because i rescued them from this woman who didn't want them anymore where they were living in a bucket, so bought all the stuff im still a novice although i have read a lot about them.
Here is the tank that i am currently keeping them in :

The turtles are all quite small so i wasnt sure if the tank was too small.

The main problem is the two mud turtles keep following each other around - the turtles with the more domed shell follows the other one around a lot more and sometimes i have seen him/her bite the other turtle.i have also noticed that they both look like they are smelling each others bum areas and also the smaller turtle runs away from the other turtle, but i have seen the smaller turtle sniff at the other one. the thing is they dont bother the other sliders i have and im not sure if they are trying to mate or if its a dominance thing because surely if it was a dominance thing they would do it to the other sliders? was hoping to get some advice on here, i will show you the turtles:

bigger turtle:

smaller turtle:

Hope this helps any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Could we see the tails? My first guess is the two muds are exhibiting sexual behaviors.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I don't know a lot about turtles. I have only had res, snapping, and map. However, the tank is to small for all of them and you should only keep the same species together. That may also solve your bullying. Good luck, Great Save on the turtles, and WELCOME :D