Might get a chance to adopt a neglected Russian

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seejai

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
North Dakota
Hi,

I am a college student with one baby sulcata tortoise. My friend just got a hold of me yesterday and said he just got back from Christmas break to find that his roommate's tortoise had been left in their dorm from December 22-January 12 without care, food, or heating. He said the tortoise was still alive and he was trying to get some food for it. I don't know much about Russians, so I suppose she could have hibernated, but this isn't the first sign of neglect I've seen from her owner.

I heard from another one of his friends that he was probably looking to get rid of it, and while I'm trying with all my might not to become a reptile hoarder before I even graduate college, I figure I've already made the biggest tortoise commitment possible with my sulcata and it's much better for me to have that Russian than for it to die of neglect. I'm pretty upset about his treatment of it, probably especially since my baby sulcata is so high maintenance I can't imagine doing something like that.

I know almost nothing about Russians, so my I guess I'm just double checking that abandonment isn't typical for Russian owners, right? And secondly, If it has been starving/neglected/hibernating, what can I do for it, since I might get it as early as Monday?

tortisimo

5 Year Member
Seattle, Washington
Seejai said:
I know almost nothing about Russians, so my I guess I'm just double checking that abandonment isn't typical for Russian owners, right? And secondly, If it has been starving/neglected/hibernating, what can I do for it, since I might get it as early as Monday?

No! I love my russian! I would never abandon him. Some people are just like that :(