Master Oogway the Aldabra Giant Tortoise

MasterOogwayMd

Hi,

my name is Mike and I just joined this forum.

I have an Aldabra called Master Oogway and he's an amazing pet.
Master Oogway lives in MD on 2 acres.
Most of the year is easy, he runs around and eats like a lawn mower and occasionally I give him/her some treats (tomatoes or anything red are a favorite) or some additional leafy greens.

For the winter my family built him a very large house that sits in our green house. It is consistently heated to 80 degrees fahrenheit and has a lot of glass to ensure that Master Oogway gets a plenty of sun.
The house has 4 inch thick walls which contain high quality insulation material used to build houses. For the glass part we have four lids. Two are placed on top of each other in order to have the air between them act as an additional layer of insulation.

He/she (never had him/her sexed) has been with us for several years and is a blast.
Keeping him/her is a bit of work and he/she's not getting smaller :) I'm thinking about whether we can keep Master Oogway much longer. Family is planning to travel more etc. Haven't made up my mind yet but I may sell him/her if there's a good home with similar space to roam.

The first two pictures are about two years old. Master Oogway has grown quite a bit since.

tortoise1.JPG tortoise2.JPG tortoise3.JPG tortoise4.JPG tortoise5.JPG tortoise6.JPG

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. It's too bad you are considering parting with him/her. A little work to the greenhouse, some added heat, maybe even solar heat, reinforce the bottom walls and he/she would have a decent winter home. Just a suggestion

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts
Nice tortoise you have there, and what a great home! Wish I had something like that for my tortoise! Is that another aldabra in the enclosure, or is it a different species?

MasterOogwayMd