male or female

Karen(pebbles)

Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Bristol Uk
I didn't think you could tell the sex of a tortoise until they were around 4 years old, but today somebody has suggested that my tort is a female, s/he is just 21 months old.

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg
Hmm, I'm not sure @zovick @Tom @maggie3fan @ZenHerper @Yvonne G
It does seem this may be a matter of debate, perhaps the development of features like tail length or plastron concavity etc is linked to reproductive development, but this may be an easy method to nail it? I'm not sure if lower plastron development and geometry of the scutes may be linked, but I'm no expert ofcourse.
Is this Pebbles?

Karen(pebbles)

Platinum Tortoise Club
Bristol Uk
Hmm, I'm not sure @zovick @Tom @maggie3fan @ZenHerper @Yvonne G
It does seem this may be a matter of debate, perhaps the development of features like tail length or plastron concavity etc is linked to reproductive development, but this may be an easy method to nail it? I'm not sure if lower plastron development and geometry of the scutes may be linked, but I'm no expert ofcourse.
Is this Pebbles?
Yes this is pebbles, imo i understood that torts couldn't be sexed until they're around 4 years old, but today somebody here on the forum says s/he's female, i'm not convinced and thought i'd throw it out there to see what others would say.

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg
Mine is about 8 months, so might aswell add, this is quite intresting!IMG-20220111-WA0009.jpg
My female leopard has horizontal lower scutes, like the diagram I saw. She is 4 years old and female, from the tail you can see it. The horizontal scutes are present by the tail, like the diagram suggests, so it may be true? Perhaps other members can add to this so we can determine if it is true?

Karen(pebbles)

Platinum Tortoise Club
Bristol Uk