Is Sid a boetteri or hercegovinensis (we'll love him whichever:-)

PeterB

Hi there - newbie here:)
This week my daughter became the very proud owner of Sidney - a Hermanns tortoise. I've included some pics, one or two of which are little blurred because the little bugger moves so quick ;) .
Thing is, I've looked at the diagrams/photos HermanniChris very kindly posted in the Hermanns forum but my untrained eye can't make out if it's a boetteri or hercegovinensis - due to the colouring at the rear. Can anyone help?
Also, we live in the Italian Alps at just under 1,300mts (+/- 4,000ft). At the mo, Sid is out in our small garden (about 3mts by 15mts + a 50cm by 2mts dirt patch which should have flowers...but not this year!), which gets loads of sun and doesn't get too cold at night. He's been munching on the dandelions in the grass & he seems to like tomatoes (he's had 2 cherry tomatoes in the last few days - is that ok?). Also, I read I should get a cuttlefish bone for him - which I'll do in the week.
But my main worry right now is that I don't know what outside temp I should be watching for before bringing him inside for hibernation..a subject for which I already has a list of questions, but I'll save for another day, lol!
Anyway, I'm rambling;)
Cheers
P

Attachments

• 20140830_172934.jpg
    20140830_172934.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 50
  • 20140830_172914.jpg
    20140830_172914.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 49
  • 20140830_172905.jpg
    20140830_172905.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 46
  • 20140830_172856.jpg
    20140830_172856.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 44

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
Sid looks to definitely be a boettgeri but a plastron shot will tell for sure.

PeterB

@HermanniChris