Introductions and a bit of advice

ELLIE753

Location (City and/or State)
United Kingdom, West Sussex
Hi there,
Hope your all well, I am very new to this and just signed up :) I have a couple of questions for you tortoise lovers out there, I have a Hermann torties around 10 years old
1. I thought my Hermann tortoise was a boy but after reading up I am now un sure he has a completely flat under belly and has a slight concave on his top shell near his/her bottom, he is over 8 so I feel like he/she should be older enough for me to tell.
2. I keep getting told different things about certain foods being unsafe, tomatoes and iceberg lettuce in particular, can you confirm this for me please.
3.does my tortoise need to be in a vavrium all the time? when its a nice day I put him outside in a large enclosure and bring him in at night would you suggest he always has a heat lamp available.
4.(sorry last one) I want to get another tortoise but again heard conflicting advice, what would you suggest?
I do worry about him/her as I don't no much about tortoise and although there is lots of different info it can be conflicting. Help!!

Thank you
Ellie , West Sussex, UK
x

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Hi there,
Hope your all well, I am very new to this and just signed up :) I have a couple of questions for you tortoise lovers out there, I have a Hermann torties around 10 years old
1. I thought my Hermann tortoise was a boy but after reading up I am now un sure he has a completely flat under belly and has a slight concave on his top shell near his/her bottom, he is over 8 so I feel like he/she should be older enough for me to tell.
2. I keep getting told different things about certain foods being unsafe, tomatoes and iceberg lettuce in particular, can you confirm this for me please.
3.does my tortoise need to be in a vavrium all the time? when its a nice day I put him outside in a large enclosure and bring him in at night would you suggest he always has a heat lamp available.