Im intrested in owning a tortoise

megan mckay

hi everyone I'm new to the whole tortoise world and would be really interested in owning one. but of course I don't want to just jump straight in, because that would incredibly irresponsible. so Ive been doing some research but cant seem to find some or the answers I'm looking for. I know some of these questions may be a bit obvious but as I say I'm extremely new and know next to nothing about tortoise owning.
what do they eat?
What are there exercise requirements?
What are their housing requirements?
Do certain breeds have to live in a group of more than one or are they ok alone?
What kind of bedding do they need?
Can they live just outside or do they need inside and outside housing?
Are they hard to take care of?
if there are any other things that you think I need to know that might seem obvious I would still like to know. thanks for your help.

Rue

Location (City and/or State)
Canada
I am also new to tortoises...but I will give it a go since I am in the process of reading everything I come across. There are books about this too...but in short:

Food. Depends on the species. But weeds and/or grasses are the mainstay.

They wander over hectares in the wild so they need ample space.

Housing. Depends on species and the environment you live in. I will need indoor, outdoor and brumation space for mine.

Number. Best kept alone (unless you plan to breed). Do not mix species.

They can be kept outside if they are old enough and the environment is compatible for that species.

I think they are hard/finicky to get set-up properly. But once you have their "habitat" in place and a routine set they are fairly easy to maintain.

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Toronto, Canada