I'm getting antsy!

Amanda A

Hi there!

I'm new to the torty world, and so excited about it all! I already have a Bearded Dragon that I am head-over-heels in love with. I get all of his bugs from a local reptile store, The Serpentarium, and they have had a couple Tortoise hatchlings over the past several months. I instantly fell for the Leopard after seeing the beautiful shell design and doing my initial research. After taking a several months to think and be sure I'm not being impulsive, I have determined that I truly DO want to love a care for a tort for the many years it would be with me!

Anyway, that's my tortoise back story. Now I plan on spending a few months researching, preparing and getting together the proper equipment. I feel very lucky to have found this forum right off the bat. I can tell that this will be a total game changer! I have already learned a lot through reading others' posts about existing concerns and current experiences. There are a few names that I recognize and respect already, like @Tom and @Yvonne G and others. I can already tell that you guys are going to make this experience SO much more wonderful, and far less scary! When I got my beardie I did loads of research, got all the correct equipment, and then went into full fledged panic mode on a weekly basis. I was POSITIVE I was doing everything wrong. A year later and he's doing great, by the way!