I am new to tortoise and don't what is their type

sira

Location (City and/or State)
Egypt
Hi everybody, my name is Sira from Egypt. I am 48 years, a doctor. I my self and my kids lover tortoise.
I bought my tortoise from a pet shop, but the shop man doesn't know much about tortoise. He sells birds and that is his specialty. So I started to go over the internet to know as much as I can about tortoise and their care. I was delighted to find this form.
I am attaching a photo for them and the home I made by myself with my kids. actually I built a home with my kids just like one I found on the internet.
All what I know is that they are of the hermann type, I think. no further information I have. I believe also that they might be a male and female (only from their tail length). I hope anybody can tell me more about them from the pictures
thanks for all and I am really pleased being here with you in the forum.

Sira-Tortoise.jpg Sira-home.jpg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Those are not hermanni. I have no experience with them, but those look an awful lot like Egyptian tortoises to my untrained eye. I could be wrong though...

@HermanniChris is the master of Testudo species ID. He will be able to tell us what they are.

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
Tom is 100% right. Those are Egyptian tortoises (Testudo kleinmanni), no question about it.

sira

Egypt
Thank you Tom for your reply. with the help of your response I realized that their type is "Testudo kleinmanni Lortet". by the way, they are not awful. may be it is the photo quality. Anyway, thx

sira

Egypt
Thanks HermanniChris. I want to read more about 'em can you tell me a source?

MPRC

5 Year Member
Oregon
Thank you Tom for your reply. with the help of your response I realized that their type is "Testudo kleinmanni Lortet". by the way, they are not awful. may be it is the photo quality. Anyway, thx