I am a proud owner of 3 and soon to be 4 African Sulcatas, so I am a newbie on this

Status
Not open for further replies.

NinjaTortoises

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Cali
Hi everyone, I am new to this site and decided to join because I want to make sure my sulcatas get the required care and attention they need, so I need some help

Ok so i bought 3 baby sulcatas, they are 12 weeks old now, but i have a question and I am kinda worried, my sulcatas seem healthy, they eat like normal they defecate daily, once or twice, and sometimes they defecate twice in one sitting haha, i dont overfeed them, I give them food in the afternoon and then at night, i feed them iceberg lettuce,.....just kidding, i feed them romaine lettuce and mazuri...and every other day i sprinkle some cuttlebone on their food, I built a little enclosure about 4 feet in lenght and 2 feet wide, and i put timothy hay and hibiscus mix as the substrate, and i made a hiding area for them, is there anything i should do also? oh and i soak them daily for about 10 mins, they walk out on their own, i dont want to force them into being wet, they drink water but not too much....but i wouldnt know how much is enough lol so i cant say much on that, I am pretty much a newbie on the tortoises, now i have one slight problem, 2 of my tortoises have 2 soft spots on their plastrons, I dont know why that is, right now they seemed to have hardened but just about an hour ago i the spot soft, not real soft but softer than the rest of the plastron which is hard, also the plastron is regular color but the soft spots are a darker shade...i am really worried, they seem really healthy too, but I dont want to think that and then it all goes wrong D: ,thanks for your time and all your answers, I will be here waiting for any replies :) thanks a lot guys for your patience in reading this lol, i just had to get this info out

if you guys can give me any tips also on what else to do, i will gladly accept the help :)