I am new to this.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoUseForAName95

5 Year Member
My name is Allen and i am the proud owner of two Sulcata Tortoises. Grumpy (the larger) and Sylvia (the smaller) we are mostly just hoping thee genders at this point. I have had Grumpy since August 24 2012 and Sylvia since July 17 2013 and they are both doing fine. i feed them a mixture of romaine lettuce, timothy hay, and a grassland tortoise fiber supplement. i treat them occasionally to carrots and/or fruit, and take them out to graze in the park when i can. They currently have a separate bulb for heat and one for UVB, they have dark places to sleep, hot places to bask, and cool places to get away from the head. Lots of sand to dig in. I bathe them regularly and give them lots of attention, walking around with them or playing with them or just petting their shells and heads. I an just wondering if i am doing anything wrong or if there is anything i can improve on. My only real concerns are to prevent pyramiding, the eventual introduction of a baby bearded dragon that will be sharing an enclosure with them (my roommate's, we have looked up what we need to know to keep everyone happy), and the fact that Sylvia is hopelessly attached to Grumpy. she refused to sleep, or even stop moving while he is out of her sight (sleeping in his cave) so i have to drag him out and they fall asleep nose to nose. She follows him around every second of every day, they sleep together, eat together, walk together, everything. She won't calm down until she can physically touch him. Is this normal? Will this have adverse affects?

Attachments

• Grumpy and Sylvia- July 31 2013.jpg
    Grumpy and Sylvia- July 31 2013.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 150

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Winnipeg, MB
Welcome, Allen, Grumpy, and Sylvia! Cute torts! [TURTLE][TURTLE]

May[CHERRY BLOSSOM], Darwin[TURTLE] & Wallace[TURTLE]
Winnipeg, Canada

Baoh

10 Year Member!
Florida