How to keep thee humidity up?

Spartagus981

5 Year Member
I have a Greek tortoise and a Hermanns tortoise, and I was wondering how I could keep the humidity levels up without a humidifier?

I have them on exoterra plantation soil and I have been misting it every now and then with a bottle, but I was wondering if there was something I could do, like pour a bit of water on it so it's moist, to keep the humidity levels high?
Any ideas are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Spartagus981

5 Year Member
Well I have a Greek hatchling and a Hermanns hatchling, so I'm aiming for the 60%-90% range.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
UK Sheffield
I'm no expert, But I though Mediterranean torts like Hermanns should be around 40 to 50% humidity in there hide, And can be as low as 20% in there basking spot. I maybe wrong, but I personally would aim for 50%. My reds need 80% and hermanns are not at that level I don't think. See what others say to this post and then make a decision. Good luck

Spartagus981

5 Year Member
I'm no expert, But I though Mediterranean torts like Hermanns should be around 40 to 50% humidity in there hide, And can be as low as 20% in there basking spot. I maybe wrong, but I personally would aim for 50%. My reds need 80% and hermanns are not at that level I don't think. See what others say to this post and then make a decision. Good
I'm no expert, But I though Mediterranean torts like Hermanns should be around 40 to 50% humidity in there hide, And can be as low as 20% in there basking spot. I maybe wrong, but I personally would aim for 50%. My reds need 80% and hermanns are not at that level I don't think. See what others say to this post and then make a decision. Good luck

On the care sheets on this forum it says they should both be around 70%. I have learned that with my spray bottle I can get it 80%-90%, and then it falls as time passes.

Anyfoot

5 Year Member
UK Sheffield