How to correctly raise a baby tort?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aquaman

5 Year Member
Hello! Im new to the tortoise game, But Ive Been researching and going through this awesome forum for a couple weeks now. Anyway im really excited (and Nervous) to own a baby tort of my own but I want to know everything i should know about raising a baby before i get one. I have been thinking that i want to get ether a baby hermann, baby russian, or a baby red foot. I Know the basics of owning a tort but I havent read much on owning a baby. Is there some kind of special food i should feed him/her? something special I should keep In the enclosure? Which breed should I start out with? Or just any helpful advice would be nice :)
Thanks!!

Zabbi0

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, TX
If you were talking about sulcatas or leos I could give ya a lot of great advice but I am not too familiar with those breeds. We do have a lot of members here that own those breeds though and I am sure they will chime in soon.
I just wanted to congratulate you on your decision to get a baby tort! They are so so exciting & maybe a little addicting lol. Once ya have one ya want another:) But they are a whole lot of work until you get very use to their routine/diet/habitat. You will love yours! :)
I have heard Herman's and Russians have some of the most entertaining personalities. :)

cemmons12

5 Year Member
Greenfield, In.
I believe a Herman or Russian would be the way to go. Good luck to you! And welcome to the forum!

Mgridgaway

5 Year Member
Maryland
I love my redfoots, but they're maybe a little more difficult to take care than russians because of their humidity requirements. Still, they're very personable and get much larger than russians, which is a big plus in my book :)