How is this as a new temporary enclosure?

Sadienelly

Hi all,
I have changed Sheldon's enclosure a little, putting down coco coir instead of sand etc.

How is it looking for him? All okay? Whilst his new permanent home is under construction!

I hope to get some plants to go in this weekend. It had been suggested to get some herbs to plant for the aroma.

What is more popular? Artificial plants or real? I have seen a mixture of both :)

Thanks for any advice, I am a complete newbie!

ImageUploadedByTortForum1391189257.256253.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1391189286.742271.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1391189311.919893.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1391189323.657634.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

jackmeggers

Location (City and/or State)
Hampton Roads, Va
According to the Tortoise Table website, most herbs are safe for them but the smell is so strong to them that they don't eat them. SO I guess that is up to you, just check and see if they are safe or not. I planted zinnias, different types of pansies/violas and coleus in Archimedes current enclosure. They are all starting to come up and he just lays on them instead of eating them lol. but it's pretty :D maybe he will eat them when they get leafier, or maybe he is just full from all we feed him lol. Sheldon's place looks great!

Sadienelly

Thank you! I have just been reading your thread! :)

I have ordered some seeds, did you plant the seeds directly into the substrate or did you start them off first?
Looks lovely either way and very natural growing up through!

jackmeggers

Hampton Roads, Va