destiny88

5 Year Member
Hi to all

so glad to have found this forum

Ive always loved tortoises and i have now decided to go ahead
and buy one
Since im a beginner i have decided on a Hemann or a Horsefield
as ive read these are the best for beginners
So i am realy going to be looking for tons of advice about everything!!
Ive been doing some tortoise research before actually buying one
and im finding lots of conflicting information!! grrrrr
I first visited a pet shop and the tortoises are all in vivariums
i have since read that this isnt very good and i should buy from a
breeder .....
so i shall be having lots of reads before buying my tort although i realy cant wait ..

karen xx

EchoTheLeoTort

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
United States
I would suggest a Russian, but it depends what kind of shell pattern you find interesting. I started out with a leopard tortoise and learned quickly on all the mistakes I made, and I quickly changed them. But thats part of starting out with a more advanced species. I don't know much about Hermans but Russians are very easy. You don't need to worry about humidity and all you need is a good UVB lamp, a heat lamp, and or an MVB lamp which combines both. There are plenty of good threads on here about diet as well. Congrats on your first tortoise and enjoy. Russians have big personality I am told :D

destiny88

5 Year Member
EchoTheLeoTort said: