Hi im new and still need questions answerd

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortioselove101

5 Year Member
I, everyone im still pretty new and have been reading all these different threads and i really feel that you guys are my main source! Ive been researching tortoises for 8 months now and have found which one is for me! A Sulcata heres my setup so far tell me how im doing its not finished and i wont get him/her till its finished. I have: substrate two clamp lights a hide away and lots of food. And now all i need is uvb bulb heat bulb bowl and a heat pad. Does that sound right?

-landon sorry it was so long!

CourtneyAndCarl

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Middle of nowhere
tortioselove101 said:
I, everyone im still pretty new and have been reading all these different threads and i really feel that you guys are my main source! Ive been researching tortoises for 8 months now and have found which one is for me! A Sulcata heres my setup so far tell me how im doing its not finished and i wont get him/her till its finished. I have: substrate two clamp lights a hide away and lots of food. And now all i need is uvb bulb heat bulb bowl and a heat pad. Does that sound right?

-landon sorry it was so long!

It wasn't long at all! What kind of enclosure are you actually putting it in? Tank, outdoors, etc?

tortioselove101

5 Year Member
Actually a book case without the shelves and then yes he/her will get time outside everyday

CourtneyAndCarl

5 Year Member
Middle of nowhere
Alright then, it sounds good! A few other things you'll need is: a temperature gauge (preferably one that isn't stuck to any specific part of the tank. I got a zoo med repti-temp which you just point and click the button, and it gives you the temperature (very useful). To make the enclosure more interesting, try adding rocks and plants, they can be fake or real. I just took rocks out of my garden and boiled them before putting them in the enclosure.