Help with health and determining gender

Location (City and/or State)
Saltaire
Hi

This is Ziggy. He is 22 months old and likes eating and sleeping and I’ve had him since March. I’m new to tortoise keeping and wondered if you look at photos to see if his shell looks ok. I’m paranoid about pyramiding and would be so upset if it happened. His welfare is of upmost importance to me and am careful at monitoring temps, humidity and feeding a variety of weeds I have grown outside. I think I just need some reassurance that he looks ok and is healthy.

I’ve also posted a photo of his plastron to see if anyone can tell the gender. I’ve been thinking of him as a male, but am thinking he is possibly a she.

I love this forum and have found it very useful. E45A16E6-C96A-42DF-BE35-8BA8B137097F.jpeg Thanks in advance

Attachments

• 583D7393-FCAB-4F8B-8DB8-3014809A77FA.png
    583D7393-FCAB-4F8B-8DB8-3014809A77FA.png
    1,008.7 KB · Views: 4
  • E8828284-CB6F-4495-9C28-92A5D75E49EA.jpeg
    E8828284-CB6F-4495-9C28-92A5D75E49EA.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 4
  • E4909622-86A0-40EE-B2DC-7253AE7889D6.jpeg
    E4909622-86A0-40EE-B2DC-7253AE7889D6.jpeg
    191.7 KB · Views: 5

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome!

Your new little tortoise has the characteristics of female right now, but may be too small yet to know for sure. All tortoises start out looking female. I don't see pyramiding yet. Just don't keep the enclosure too dry and pyramiding shouldn't be a problem.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
There seems to be slight pyramiding to me. Get the humidity up to 80%. It can be 30-50% once she is an adult.
I do think she is still to young to sex

Saltaire
Hi, and welcome!