Help (tortoise is whistling)

Trisha0023

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Il
I just built I new enclosure. And ralphie is whistling now. Is this a normal thing? I'm starting to think that I need an extra light because it's bigger? I got a 100w to get more heat. Is this too much? I'm no expert. But with the help of this site I always get it done. Please take a look at the pic and tell me what to do. Don't mind the tin foil. Waiting for the o the plexus glass to be cut. He also just hides now.

15092158417251126353114.jpg 1509215913184722133483.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
We need to know what the temps actually are.
That's a small enclosure. Good really only for hatchlings. Hard to tell from the pic of him in the hide, but he looks much bigger then a hatchling. Knock out the one end and add about another four feet to the box.

Trisha0023

5 Year Member
Il
Temp under light is 95. Sides of the light are 80. Other side is 70. Should I move to 75w. I've researched all day. Websites say all Differant things. This is an old cupboard.i actually can't build anything. Why don't they sell these somewhere? I know I sound helpless. But when it comes to any tool I am. This is 3.5×3.5. Adding 4ft. I don t even know how to start. Is there something I can use that's already done.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I just built I new enclosure. And ralphie is whistling now. Is this a normal thing?
No.

I got a 100w to get more heat. Is this too much?
Only your thermometer can answer this. Once we know the species we are talking about we can offer the correct temperature suggestions.

We are happy to help. Keep asking your questions.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Is this a sulcata or red foot? 70 is a bit low. Is this only a winter enclosure and where do you live, state?