Help. (shell look ok??)

Jamie5times

Location (City and/or State)
Methuen
Does my Russian tortoise look healthy, I’m new to this turtle thing. 50 gallon tank 90 on one side 74 80 on the cool end I have a fogger to use when I want, not all the times as needed. I mistcage only on the cool side. I wish I knew if it was male or female. Does the shell look good it does fray a little in the back near her back legs, I just want to know if it’s normal. Thanks everyone!

A47C982E-70CE-41A3-A378-8927186A8985.jpeg 9A22F389-C31C-42BD-93BA-D7D3E3AFE6A8.jpeg 884D7A52-B608-492C-80D1-C126B15FEBE4.jpeg 0D8CF0E9-E82B-4F6B-B9C4-6C1A2CBF5FA6.jpeg

lilly_sand99

Marshalltown IA
Lol you got a little Russian. They all look like they been put through something ruff.
I personally think it looks just fine. You can always put some coconut oil on to help.

You do not want to bathe the poor thing in it. Just a soft rag, and a little buffing.

Btw I love you tank. Someone is bound to tell you the water dish is a flipping hazard tho... And to you wet down the substrate a little more.

Most people use a terra cotta plant dish for water, and I use a watering can and just add water till my substrate is moist.

But... it's beautiful!!! And I'm kinda jealous and feeling slack on my end. Lol one of my hides is a cardboard box!

SweetGreekTorts

Tucson, AZ
From the angle of the last photo, the tail appears to be short and stubby, which is female. She'll grow up to 8-10" in size and will need more space soon (8×4 tortoise table, at least).

Shell looks fine. That lighter line across the back is new growth. You can take a soft toothbrush and gently brush her shell during soaks to keep it clean and healthy.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA