Hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

1208jen

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Niskayuna, NY
Hi,
My name is Jenny and I am a newbie to this site and a new tortoise owner. I recently purchased 2 redfoot cherry head tortoises. Male and female(from different breeders). Both are about 9 months old, but the male is significantly smaller than the female?

Male "Red" is 3 inches and "Cherry" female" is 4- 4.5inches?

Cherry arrived with a really dry head. I have been spraying and soaking her and also using a humidifier.

They are eating, but don't seem to eat much. They are sleeping a lot. Is this common?

Arizona Sulcata

10 Year Member!
Mesa, AZ
Welcome! I hate to bring bad news but its too early to tell whether they are male or female yet. They also don't look anywhere near the same age. If you don't mind me asking, where did you get them? Also its very common for them to sleep the majority of their time.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome :)

I'll start with the same message about gender. It is impossible to tell the gender of any tortoise without expensive scientific tests until they are 5-10 years old ... and even then laying eggs or flashing (seeing a penis) is a better indicator. They can be bred to be a specific gender by careful use of incubation temperatures, but it is not foolproof by any means.

Tortoises are solitary creatures in the wild generally and do not always cohabit nicely regardless of gender. They see another tortoise as competition for food and habitat and their 'chatting up' techniques if they're feeling horny can only be described as aggressive. The ensuing fights can lead to blood being drawn and intimidation by the dominant tort frequently leads to decline or illness in the subordinate tortoise. They do not need or seek out company apart from mating. You must be prepared to separate them into two enclosures promptly if this happens and it will probably have to be permanent.