Hello

Dawn48

Hello, I'm new to tortoise keeping although I've always loved them from a young child when my auntie had two. I purchased a marinated tortoise on Thursday last week, I've named him Only, he is so cute. The only thing I'm concerned about is that he hasn't been to the toilet yet. Should I be concerned about this? He is eating well, loves to bask under the heat lamp and has a uv light. I have also been bathing him every morning. Any advice would be appreciated.

Jodie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Spokane Valley WA
Can you give us more info? What is his diet and what are your 4 temps? Hot side, cool side, basking and night low? Are you soaking, and what humidity?

Dawn48

Can you give us more info? What is his diet and what are your 4 temps? Hot side, cool side, basking and night low? Are you soaking, and what humidity?
His, his diet so far is, dandelion, romaine lettuce, hibiscus flower, viola flower, and just once has had rocket and watercress. Basking temp is 95-98f, cool side is 75-80f and overnight so far has been 70f. Yes I've been bathing him in warm water every morning

yillt

Welcome. I hope your tortoise isn't marinated ;) (Marginated maybe?) He needs a long warm soak and abut more time to settle in. Has he been outside yet? Are you sire he hadn't been to the loo but you just haven't spotted it?

Dawn48

Welcome. I hope your tortoise isn't marinated ;) (Marginated maybe?) He needs a long warm soak and abut more time to settle in. Has he been outside yet? Are you sire he hadn't been to the loo but you just haven't spotted it?
Haha, well spotted, didn't realise it said marinated!! I live in England so it's too cold for him to go out until next summer. From what I've read I think I would have noticed if he'd been to the loo, I haven't seen anything and definitely not when he is having a soak. Perhaps like you said, he needs more time to settle in. It's only been 3 days since I got him.

Dawn48