Hello from Sunny Palm Springs!

luvsdaheat

Location (City and/or State)
Sunny Palm Springs, CA
I'm new to this forum, `though Mrs. Luvsdaheat and I have been keeping torts for about 10 years.
Our big pair is Oscar and Luna - 115lbs, and 83lbs. respectively. We've had them a bit over 9 years. They slept in a made-over giant doghouse for first few years, then Oscar went to digging - Luna stole his first burrow, so he had to dig another for himself (which I don't think he particularly minded).

Last year, someone found a 90lb. male Sulcata on the FREEWAY unhurt! We took him in, and Luna really took to him - wink, wink. We placed Willie last summer - partly because the two males went at it all the freakin' time.

Before "Willie" our hatches were 40-60, and with Willie, it shot up to over 80! Mrs. Luvsdaheat thinks Luna was pissed off about Willie leaving, and shut Oscar down, as this year we have ZERO babies...

We recently managed to find a not-too-expensive a nice male Leopard to keep 8 year old Lazzie company...they seem to have bonded, so stay tuned for news of scuttling baby Babcocki!

I can't be a regular contributor, but I'm not an "all take and no give" kind of guy, either.

brad

Blakem

10 Year Member!
California
Welcome. Thanks for sharing your stories!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

I don't recommend keeping your tortoises in pairs. It is usually pretty stressful on them. Best to have several females for each male. Assuming of course you want a whole lotta babies.

luvsdaheat

Sunny Palm Springs, CA
Hello and welcome.

I don't recommend keeping your tortoises in pairs. It is usually pretty stressful on them. Best to have several females for each male. Assuming of course you want a whole lotta babies.

Tom,