Hello from Buffalo, NY USA.

Thomas Lamar

Location (City and/or State)
Buffalo, NY USA
Hello!

My name is Thomas Lamar, but you can call me Tom. I am quite new to the tortoise keeping hobby.

In mid-May, I purchased a hatchling baby Leopard Tortoise from a reptile expo in my city. He was the cutest little thing, but I immediately realized something wasn't right. He rarely opened his eyes, his eyes appeared puffy, and his appetite was very much lower than to be expected. I got him to the vet a couple days later, and received that sad news that he had an URI, and would need to be on injectible antibiotics for a couple weeks. He was only about 2 inches long, and his plastron and shell were spongy. The vet told me that he may make it, he may not, and all I can do is try. I was also informed he was actually too small to be sold legally in my state, as he was under 4 inches in length. Go figure.

Initially, Wilson (which I had named him) had an amazing response to the medication. His eye puffiness subsided, he had his eyes open all the time, and he started eating. His favorites were grass from my lawn, clover, dandelion leaves, yellow squash, sweet potato. I was thrilled.