Happy to have found this site!

Emily Mitchell

I am a science teacher in Northern New York, I have a Red Footed Tortoise as a class pet. I have had her about one year now, I have had some trouble in the past with humidity levels and her eyes not opening. I have a humidifier in her terrarium and it keeps the humidity between 50-55%. I was soaking her substrate to help with humidity, but then she got a mild case of shell rot, which I was able to correct with betadine and anti-fungal cream. This week she has been very lethargic, not eating much as all since Monday. She hasn't eaten at all in the last two days and can't open her eyes.

If anyone could give me any clues to what might be the issue that would be great!!
Thanks!!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
Salutations
what is the diet like? temps? any fecal test done?

Emily Mitchell

Here are a few pics of her and her enclosure.

Attachments

• IMG_0145.JPG
    IMG_0145.JPG
    45.4 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0146.JPG
    IMG_0146.JPG
    48.5 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_0147.JPG
    IMG_0147.JPG
    29.4 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0148.JPG
    IMG_0148.JPG
    34 KB · Views: 19

Emily Mitchell

Salutations
what is the diet like? temps? any fecal test done?
I feed her every other day, always with leafy greens and then I mix in a combination of fruits and veggies depending on the day. I usually spray on calcium supplement, from Zilla, every few days or once a week. I also give her timothy on top of her food.

Emily Mitchell

I feed her every other day, always with leafy greens and then I mix in a combination of fruits and veggies depending on the day. I usually spray on calcium supplement, from Zilla, every few days or once a week. I also give her timothy on top of her food.
I have not done a fecal test, I am not even sure if there is a vet in my area that would treat a tortoise. The temps are usually around 75 degrees.

FLINTUS

5 Year Member