Evening temperature

Zaffy

5 Year Member
I inherited an elderly tortoise called Boris.
I look after Boris in mostly the same way his owner did.
Boris hibernates when he is ready and wakes up when he is ready, and in the latter case far too early for me, about January time. He then roams around the house doing his own thing waiting for spring. I pop him into the garden whenever the sun throws a bit of warmth.
I am not an expert, but I have an observation I would like to share. At night, even if Boris has chosen to roast himself by the wood burning stove, he will, when ready for bedtime, stomp off to the coolest part of the room, or house if a door is open, to sleep through the night and I wonder when tortoises are kept in contained areas, with sleep lamps etc., that these tortoises have that same opportunity to find a cool space.
In the wild, even in the hottest countries, night temperatures drop, so to me Boris' night sleeping arrangements makes sense.
Anyhow just a thought.

Thomas tortoise

Location (City and/or State)
Arkansas
You let him wonder the house???? There are many reasons not to let your tortoise do that but I forget the reasons I'm sure @Tom would gladly remind me about the reasons and tell you them.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I inherited an elderly tortoise called Boris.
I look after Boris in mostly the same way his owner did.
Boris hibernates when he is ready and wakes up when he is ready, and in the latter case far too early for me, about January time. He then roams around the house doing his own thing waiting for spring. I pop him into the garden whenever the sun throws a bit of warmth.