Does shyness reliably predict sex in young Aldabras?

marty4dive

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Vallejo, CA
IMG_0329.JPGHow about the anecdotes that claim young female Aldabras are noticeably more shy than young male Aldabras? Can you reliably determine the sex of young Aldabrans this way? Toothless is way more shy than Jett who is about 3-4 y.o. and will routinely extend his neck for a good rubdown and scratch. Toothless will have none of that unless I sneak up on her(I want her to be a her) while she's eating.Marty

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I am guessing here, but no. Something like that is so tort individual that I wouldn't count on it. However. ALDABRAMAN may know how his has turned out sex wise, compared to how they acted as younger ones. Good luck, on her being a her. Do you know for sure the other one is a he?

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
I am no aldabra expert, but the first thing I thought of was that maybe there is some bullying going on. An expert will chime in soon and help you. Beautiful tortoises! : )

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
I really would think not, but I have no experience with these guys. I am going to think it's a personality thing, nothing more. I do love the name Toothless! :D

marty4dive

5 Year Member
Vallejo, CA
IMG_0331.JPG
wellington said:
I am guessing here, but no. Something like that is so tort individual that I wouldn't count on it. However. ALDABRAMAN may know how his has turned out sex wise, compared to how they acted as younger ones. Good luck, on her being a her. Do you know for sure the other one is a he?