Can anybody help me find the species of my tortis

Nishant Singh

Location (City and/or State)
India
Dear Sir,
I am Nishant From Jharkhand, India.
While surfing through the net, I came to know about you.
I have attached few snaps of my tortoise which my son got from the field while playing..
He is about one and half inch in length.
Shanu I would be very grateful if i get to know the species. It will help me in feeding and knowing him better.
Also, if you can please tell me how to handle ( Feeding & Shelter ), as i am very new to tortoises.
Presently I have kept him in a tank with some fresh moist soil, and given him food like hibiscus flower, coriander leaves and placed a shallow pot for water. That's It. But I have never seen him eating. maybe he is too small. Please help.
Thanks
Nishant

IMG_20160505_135939.jpg IMG_20160505_140044.jpg IMG_20160505_140139.jpg IMG_20160505_140048.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and welcome. That is a turtle not a tortoise. I don't know what kind. But it needs to be housed in water with an area of land/Rock/wood to get out of the water and bask under the sun or a UVB bulb. If you live near a lake or pond, I would let him go near it. Someone should be able to ID the kind he is soon.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
It looks like a river terrapin to me. If so, they are endangered in the wild and shouldn't be kept as a pet. Please return it to where it was found.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Having consulted Google, the northern river terrapin, batagur baska, is one of the most critically endangered species in the world. Please, please return it to where t was found.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
The search showed that RES are indeed in India, but I stopped once I read that possession of turtles is illegal.