Brumation or should I be worried?

MGWP

Location (City and/or State)
CA
Hello! I am new to the tortoise world. We did research prior to the purchase of our tortoise, but of course, still have a lot to learn. We have had him (pretty sure he is a Russian but just was told he was a Testudo) for a week. He hasn’t eaten (Put out carrots, spring mix, and peas) and has been sleeping and only digging within the dirt to burrow for long periods of time. Should I be concerned? His temps during the day are 92 in his hot spot, 80 in the other areas and 72 in the covered area of his habitat. He isn’t really going into the covered area but will just find any spot to dig, hide and sleep. Thanks for any input.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

The scientific name of the Russian tortoise is/was Testudo horsfieldii. So it is a Testudo tortoise AND a Russian tortoises at the same time. THey've since put this species into a different Genus, but they are still generally regard as one of the "Testudo species" by most tortoise keepers.

Where did you get the tortoise? What was it eating before you got it? Have you soaked it? What size enclosure? What types of bulbs are you using? UV? What type?

A pic of the enclosure and tortoise would help us.

Here is the care info for you to check out:

MGWP

CA
Hello and welcome.

The scientific name of the Russian tortoise is/was Testudo horsfieldii. So it is a Testudo tortoise AND a Russian tortoises at the same time. THey've since put this species into a different Genus, but they are still generally regard as one of the "Testudo species" by most tortoise keepers.

Where did you get the tortoise? What was it eating before you got it? Have you soaked it? What size enclosure? What types of bulbs are you using? UV? What type?

A pic of the enclosure and tortoise would help us.

Here is the care info for you to check out:

Attachments

• C7985EA5-4F78-47C2-845F-F90FD167C708.jpeg