Best UV lighting???!!! Please help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

*Amber*

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Suffolk, UK
Please could somebody tell me the best UV lighting I can buy for George's enclosure (he's an Eastern Hermann's tortoise.) At the moment he has (on the advise of a tortoise man I know) got an Exo Terra Repti Glo 10.0, 15W strip tube, at a height of 10 inches from the substrate, as I was told, and he also has an Exo Terra Sun Glo 75W lamp, as advised, but I am now panicking, as I've just read on here that the strip tube I have is really naff and may damage his eyes! :( I want to buy him the best I can, but I just don't know, as I am new to tortoises! Please can someone tell me what I can buy here in the UK, that will be best for my little man? Many thanks.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Amber, don't panic. The long tubes are fine. They don't hurt their eyes that I have ever seen. Its the compact florescent bulbs that are suspect. You know, the little coil type ones.

In my experience the florescent bulbs are not adequate for preventing MBD SOMETIMES, and I usually prefer to use a mercury vapor bulb for an indoor tortoise.

There is no "best" lighting. There are a whole host of products available to suit different peoples preferences, different enclosures and set-ups, and different species. Everybody has a different opinion on the subject and different things have worked well for different people.

*Amber*

5 Year Member
Suffolk, UK
Thank you very much for your replies, and thank you Cheryl, that lamp looks great. Do you just use that with the reflector, and no other bulbs? Thanks.

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal