Beginner

Amanda81

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Northeast Tennessee
Hi. I'm new to this. I am planning on getting a sulcata. I do not have one at this time because I want to learn to care for it before hand. I have been reading almost everything I can find on this and after doing so I have decided the best thing would b to forget what the pet shops and reptile supply manufactures say to do and actually speak to people that are/have raised happy, healthy sulcata tortoise.

Grandpa Turtle 144

5 Year Member
Hello Amanda welcome to the TFO from AZ . Just remember they get big and live along time . Have agreat tort day !

Sent from my iPhone using TortForum

Amanda81

5 Year Member
Northeast Tennessee
Oh yes I am aware of this. I have a backyard that's about an acre, acre and half that I am planning on turning into an enclosure once it's big enough and I will of course make arrangements for it's care when I can no longer do so. I an on getting a hatchling and I want to build it a indoor home while it's small. Of course I will take it outside when weather allows, but I have a lot of questions about the proper indoor house for it. I understand the bigger the better and I have an idea of how to make it. My questions are about the lighting and such. Is this the proper place on here to ask those questions?

yillt

To to enclosure section and in there is a lighting section. I am glad you came on here to research first. Sulcatas can be VERY HARD WORK. But they have great personalitys. When are you thinking of getting one? :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Amanda, and welcome to the forum!!

We have a very good article for the beginner tortoise keeper at the top of the http://www.tortoiseforum.org/forums/tortoise-and-turtle-articles.114/ section entitled "Beginner Mistakes."