Bad or good eggs?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kitn42

5 Year Member
Hi I was wondering if anyone could tell me what to look for in good sulcata eggs? My largest female laid her first clutch 60 days ago totally unexpectedly so I threw together a makeshift incubator just to see what happened. I never planned on them breeding so it doesn't really matter if they hatch or not it would just be REALLY cool if they did! There are 13 eggs and every one looks different inside when I hold a flashlight to them which makes me assume they are just infertile.

Some look like this with a huge air bubble:
IMG00505-20100710-1601.jpg

Some have nasty looking black spots in them:
IMG00503-20100710-1600.jpg

And some have nothing at all:
IMG00504-20100710-1600.jpg

So could the ones with the big air bubbles be ok?

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
I'm no expert, but I'd say the first ones, with the "air bubble" are probably fertile. I candled mine for the first two months and thought I had nothing. Its funny. You can make it look different depending on how and where you hold the light and what kind of light you use. I'd just incubate them all and see what happens after 4 or 5 months. They usually hatch in 90-120 days at 86 degrees, but sometimes they just take longer or pop up sooner. If that "air bubble get smaller in the next couple of weeks, you can be pretty sure there is a baby tortoise growing in that egg.

Hopefully someone with much more breeding experience will come on and give us some more insight.

BTW, have we seen pics of the parents, yet?

kbaker

5 Year Member
Michigan
The first one is probably good/fertile/developing. You should try to shine the light through the mass and not the air bubble. You are looking for a orangish red color, but if the tortoise is large it may not show any color. You should be able to see blood vessels by now.