ASAP advice please

S2G

Location (City and/or State)
AL
So I go to my fish store today to get some food & on my way out I see some people trying to release what I thought was a turtle. Well after a closer look it's a female hermann's tortoise I believe. Petco wasnt very knowledgeable, but they gave me a box with some dirt.

What size basking bulb do I need to grab & i think they need uv? Sorry I usually have a chance to have everything ready.

I keep all kinds of saltwater fish & fresh. I've also kept dart frogs so I'm not a total newbie, but this is my first reptile. I have a big tub I can use until tomorrow then I can build a box for her. Just need help until I can research more tonight & tomorrow. Thanks

20210222_150624.jpg20210222_182018.jpg

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
That is a fantastic looking tortoise. What a lucky find!

Here is all the current and correct care info. Most of the info you find on tortoise care is all wrong.

Welcome to the forum and please feel free to ask lots of questions.

Aloysius Taschse

Mainly Texas
Welcome to the forum! What a lucky day! Releasing captive animals into the wild is almost never a good idea, so you most likely did the right thing.

Tom's guide has everything you need to set up a tortoise paradise, but if you have any questions/concerns feel free to post.

Good luck on your tortoise adventure!

S2G

AL
You say they were trying to release her? Where did she come from? She could be someone's pet.

It might be a good idea to put up some flyers, or at least watch for a "lost tortoise" posting somewhere.

The story I got was it was a relative that couldn't care for it anymore. They kept calling it a turtle. I guess they thought it was a box turtle like you see down here. I told them I would take care of it or find a good home. I'll keep an eye out on the area pages though. I have no clue the age.

How did you get the tort out of everybody else looking?