All she does is sleep

Status
Not open for further replies.

'nelope

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Pennsylvania
I'm new to tortoise keeping... and im not sure what is normal and what isnt, so bare with me here. Since I brought Penelope home she hasnt touched her food... and doesnt seem interested in her water/ soaking dish. She's very active for all of 5 minutes when we have her out... but once she finds a corner she feels comfortable it she just goes to sleep. Is this normal???

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
For the most part this is normal, they dont like change, so when change occurs, they often take awhile to readjust.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
A tortoise can take weeks to settle into a new home and decide that you and its enclosure are to be trusted, so this behaviour is not necessarily worrying. They can be very slow to realise you're a good guy!

Very young tortoises sleep a lot anyway, just like babies. You haven't said what specie or how old Penelope is.

If temperatures are wrong, this can affect activity levels, so it is important that you measure them in the 4 important places: Warm end, Cool end, Under the basking lamp and the overnight minimum. Let us know what they are.

Resist the temptation to stand over her watching... at the moment you are intimidating to her!

For new tortoises, I recommend establishing a routine so that she learns what to expect and when. I suggest you start her a day at roughly the same times with lights on, heat on (use a timer), soak (helps with hydration and gets her used to being handled) and then feed.

My soaking tips are:
1. Soak first thing before your tort has warmed up properly to reduce escape attempts.
2. Use a high sided bowl or box so your tort can't see out