Advice needed! Male Russian Tortoise -- Dehydrated (?!)

emily11

Hi. I'm Emily, I'm new on this thread, from Chicago-area.

I recently took in a russian tortoise from a different family in my neighborhood a couple days ago. I've been soliciting them for a while since they don't have enough resources to take care of him, so recently, they asked if I wanted him... so I took him in. I know a little about them since I've babysat one for a couple weeks and read up on them, but I'm really no expert on tortoises, but I'm willing to try. They got him from Petco, and Petco told them that he was three months old. That doesn't seem right -- He seems more like he is three.

Problem: He seems very lethargic. (He will sit where he is set for hours, not moving much). He eyes are closed (not swollen). He is extremely skinny -- we went to buy him a water dish (one of those grey ones where the tortoise can climb in and out from a ramp -- but he cant seem to get in or out by himself). I've been soaking him everyday in warm water in a sink. He will wake up some after the soak, and open his eyes for a short time, blinks super slowly, but most of the time he sleeps.

Enclosure: About 50 gallons, 75 degrees with a heat lamp that goes to 90 and I take him outside for hours to walk around and get some sun, but all he does is sleep. (I want to order a better lamp, if anyone has any recommendations?) I've changed his dirt to potting soil (read on a different thread) because the previous owner had this dry mulch like bedding that seemed really really dry... i don't know what it is but they said it was for tortoises. (what is this, and where can/should I buy more of this?)

Eating: He doesn't eat by himself but I've coaxed him to eat some romaine lettuce two days ago. (he won't eat anything else, I've uprooted our yard, provide those colorful pellet things, chopped up fruit). He has not pooped.

His name is Napoleon. I've attached pictures.

IMG_3831.JPG IMG_3832.JPG IMG_3833.JPG