Water for tortoises?

°

°_°

Hello I'm new to reptiles so I dont know much yet and im currently reading lots of different information about water requirements.

So at first I read a lot of facts that tortoises dont need water in there enclosure cause they could get all there water through food and spraying the food with water down is this true?

Do I need a water bowl in the enclosure?
Does it depend on the species?

Then i read that they need water and also "soaks" in warm water..

Also is humidity really important?
Some posts say yes some say no

Everyone seems to take care of there tort very differently I dont know what info to follow

Blackdog1714

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Richmond, VA
A shallow water dish is recommended to be filled at all times -think clay pot saucer for under the pot. Round with very shallow sides. Sometimes I think my Russian just likes to walk thorugh it, but since water is the source of life- a human could only survive about 1 week (7 days) without water. I get it Torts are super hardy, but having water available all day is a baseline animal care thing. BTW post pics we love to see new Torts

°

°_°

A shallow water dish is recommended to be filled at all times -think clay pot saucer for under the pot. Round with very shallow sides. Sometimes I think my Russian just likes to walk thorugh it, but since water is the source of life- a human could only survive about 1 week (7 days) without water. I get it Torts are super hardy, but having water available all day is a baseline animal care thing. BTW post pics we love to see new Torts
Thank u for ur answer I dont have a tort right now but im currently looking into the care of them cause I want one but before I try to make sure I got the right information [emoji1]

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Get your information from this forum only. As you have already found out there is way too much bad info out there.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER