Toys?

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA
Any ideas for enrichment? My guys play with a small ball- but I feel like they are missing something... any ideas?
I hate to curb your enthusiasm, but...it's my understanding that tortoises don't really play, with balls or anything else.

In reality, they see the ball as something to be removed from their territory, hence the pushing. Instead of being a toy, the ball is actually a stressor to your tort.

How about "hiding" food around the enclosure, or hanging a delectable leaf from above, so they have to reach for it. Or hang it above a substrate "mountain", so they must climb.

They are food driven creatures. Play is not in their vocabulary.

Kelly.324

Durham UK
I’m still a newbie to tortoise ownership but got great ideas from members about enriching his enclosure.
I give him food that is hard to eat, so like the end of the chicory or leave some food whole or in large pieces. I hang some food around his enclosure or put some in places he has to climb or try harder to find. I’ve got a dog treat ball thing that food in that means he had to stretch and bend and just try that little bit harder to get he food out.
Others have recommended different places to hide or dig.
A variety of different substrates, heights and depths in the enclosure. Plenty of plants both living and not, although I’ve not had much success with the living plants as yet so I’m sure someone could advise.
IMG_1550303206.499040.jpg

waretrop

5 Year Member
NE Pa. Zone 5
In reality, they see the ball as something to be removed from their territory, hence the pushing.