Status
Not open for further replies.

sid the turtle

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Green Bay
Hi Everyone!

I was soaking Sid last night and notice that the bottom of his shell was peeling, so I took a soft bristled toothbrush and gently scrubed it off....now its white with some black spots. I'm guessing this isnt normal, maybe some kind of fungus. Tell me what you think.

100_0599.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA
RE: Shell Peeling

I'm no expert and I don't know redfoots but I would say No that is not normal and that it may be fungus or shell rot (which is a fungus). I'd check with some of the RF owners and maybe even pm them.

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa

Apply betadine to the affected area daily, this will arrest the shell rot. There will not be a immediate change in apperence but it will begin to heal. what is your substat and what is the moisture level ? It should be mpist not damp. Think of what a forest floor is like, this is what you are trying to recreate not a swamp.

sid the turtle

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Green Bay

Sids substrate is crushed coconut shells, and is moist but not soaking wet. Usually it is dry. Humidity is at about 60 and normally doesnt get any higher or lower, temp is at 80.

What is Betadine and where can I buy it? Is it the same as like Tinactin?

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa

Several rf keepers have had problems similar to this with coconut substrat. I know it sonds strange but this substrat seems to hold water more than other substrats. I would suggest cypress or hardwood mulch as a substrat. Whatever you do I would suggest the betadine treatment. I have used this treatment for years on shell rot cases and it does work.

Redfoot NERD

10 Year Member!
Tennessee

sid the turtle

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Green Bay

Where can I buy Betadine?? Do I have to get it from a vet?

tortania

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Oklahoma