Tortoise Identification ??

Frenchstan

Location (City and/or State)
Carcassonne, France, Europe
Hi all.

I'm a newbie to this forum and don't have much experience with tortoises although I'm pretty into reptiles and have had various lizards and snakes over the years.

We recently (April) acquired a tortoise from my son's girlfriend as her father found it at a local waste tip in a pile of leaves that had been thrown out.

It appears to be healthy and is doing ok but I really need to identify it and find out more about it's general needs, diet, hibernation (or not), etc.

I've added a photo of it on this post. It measures approx. 6 inch front to back over the carapace.

It has very prominent yellow spots on it's front legs and yellow/red coloration on it's head.

My initial thoughts were obviously a yellow footed tortoise but it just doesn't look the same as all the photos I seem to find on the net.

If anyone can give me a pointer as to what breed it is and any more info it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Martin.

IMG_0030.JPG

method89

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Malverne, NY
Its a box turtle... which species, i do not know

zovick

10 Year Member!
Hi all.

I'm a newbie to this forum and don't have much experience with tortoises although I'm pretty into reptiles and have had various lizards and snakes over the years.

We recently (April) acquired a tortoise from my son's girlfriend as her father found it at a local waste tip in a pile of leaves that had been thrown out.

It appears to be healthy and is doing ok but I really need to identify it and find out more about it's general needs, diet, hibernation (or not), etc.

I've added a photo of it on this post. It measures approx. 6 inch front to back over the carapace.

It has very prominent yellow spots on it's front legs and yellow/red coloration on it's head.

My initial thoughts were obviously a yellow footed tortoise but it just doesn't look the same as all the photos I seem to find on the net.