Torqux and the Chronic Tortuga! (So many Questions?!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chronic Tortuga

5 Year Member
Hello! My name is Marie, also known as the Chronic Tortuga, and I recently aquired my forever friend, Torqux, an approximate 1 Year Old Captive-Bred Redfooted Tortoise from Repticon this year. (I got him May 19th). This is my first time owning a Tortoise, and like a parent with a Newborn child, I have all but pulled my hair out worrying about his care, condition, and comfort level. Hopefully some of you Tort-experts can help me understand my new friend! I have been Googling and getting answers from this Forum for 4 days now and thought it's about time I join! (Also sorry if this is a long read!)

Day one was pretty normal, I stopped by the fresh food market before I brought Torqux home. I got him a medley of Red/Green lettuce, Squash, Zucchini, and Baby Tomatoes. Before even reaching his new home, I washed off a piece of Lettuce and placed it in his transport container. Right away, he ate it immediately. Appetite has not been an issue at all with this Tort. After we got home, I fixed him some more lettuce and he ate it all as well. Finds it on his own no matter where it is. He's an eating machine! Also, I've seen this little guy push away Tomatoes and Lettuce if there is Zucchini involved. I'm pretty sure it's his favorite.

ohjxo0.jpg

16kyfrb.jpg