New sulcata owner. Need some answers!

sabnic

5 Year Member
Hello everyone ! I am a new momma to a 5 year old sulcata. I got him from my cousin who had him since a hatchling. She kept him in a 50 gallon tank and when I took him, I took the tank as well. However, he doesn't spend much time in there now. He really is only in it during the night. If he isn't in the tank he is out walking throughout the house. Or outside if it's not too chilly, which lately it has been. I live in Pennsylvania. Brrrrrr ! He also came down with pneumonia when he was about 2, and the vet told her that it would affect the way his shell grew. However, I'm afraid that he might have pyramiding because of always being in the tank when she had him. I'm also trying to figure out ways for an outside home once he is too big for inside. Or too heavy to be lugging inside and outside ! I am new to all of this so please try not to be rude. I'm hoping to better the way his lifestyle. Perry is an over all happy tort! He cruises all around and loves to eat ! Any input is great. And I have posted pictures to be able to see his shell. Thank you all!

image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!!

Thank goodness you've taken on the care of this tortoise. He hasn't had the right kind of care in his young life and it now sounds like he has a better chance at staying alive.