Syringe feeding oral hydration/food

danishrubberduck

10 Year Member!
My tortoise is under the care of a reptile vet. I am a tech at a non-exotic vet clinic and I feel mostly comfortable doing his medical care but I am seeking a video or a picture tutorial on how to give oral hydration (so IV fluids but orally) along with his critical care diet. I already ordered the special syringe tip that the vet did recommend (KVP curved metal syringe tip) and I do know that I need to be careful to avoid the trachea BUT I have yet to find a video or a pic tutorial on what I am actually looking at when I insert the syringe tip. Any help would be great! He is a Russian Tortoise that has been under the weather. (I also reached out to his vet to see what her suggestions are too)
TIA!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
What are the symptoms he is having? Why does the vet feel like he needs to be syringe fed?
Most vets, even reptile vets, have never been taught anything about tortoises. We have seen on here alone many times where the vet gave bad advice.
Let us know the symptoms and everything that is involved with his housing, substrate, temps: day, night, basking, cool end?
We may be able to help without the very stressful force feeding.

mark1

5 Year Member
ohio