Sulcata got the nail in the eyes while trying to eat

Huut

Hi everyone on Tortoiseforum:

It is my first time owning a Sulcata, everything is set up accordingly and I've given my Sulcata good balance in the grass and dark green leaf diet. One concern as I watch my Sulcata eat is that, when sometimes it is trying to eat the leaf with the front leg, the toenail would poke into the eye. I know it hurts because my Sulcata then stops immediately, re-position the leg and then continue eating.
I'm really concerned about if this poking eye continues, will the eye get infected or any injury occur due to the scratch from the nail? (the nail is pretty darn sharp for a baby Sulcata that is about 4month old)

If any one have a moment, please let me know. :(!

Thank you so so much!

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Oregon
I wouldn't think that a tortoise would injure it's eye while eating.... however, one of the benefits to natural grazing is they can tear bite size pieces off from the grounded plant without all the arm holding and pulling. Maybe you can get creative with how you feed him. Some options are:

Take a shovel and dig up a patch of weeds to plant into the indoor enclosure. After a few days (as it starts to die) put it back in the hole you got it from outside and do it again in a new spot.

Gather all the greens you want to feed for the day and clip them together in a chip clip. Then you can attach the clip to something to "ground"it. Maybe pack it into the dirt substrate or attach it to the wall, or a rock..

I've occasionally seen my tortoises (baby and adult) do what you describe but Ive never worried about them damaging their eye.

Maybe others will have more info for you.

Huut