Should you give a tortoise spring water?

Donatello

Hello i am just reading up on russian tortoises and it says you should NOT give them tap water, only spring water?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
This depends on where you live. The tap water in some areas is certainly less than perfect. In most of the US, it is perfectly fine. I have been giving tap water to russians since 1986, and have not seen any problems from it yet. All of my tortoises get tap water, and I drink it, bathe in it and brush my teeth with it too. If its safe for people, I feel its safe for tortoises too.

Be careful taking any other advice from that website. It probably says glass tanks are bad too, right? They aren't. They are actually good for the exact reasons they claim they are bad.

Donatello

I live in pennsylvania. So i would think it would be o.k? Thank you.

I read on lots of websites glass tanks arent good. But i am having a wooden one built for him so he has a big enclosure. I havent even purchased the tortoise yet but my place of work has him on hold for me. Just until i have everything ready. He is in my profile picture. Just fell in love with him soon as i saw him. Found a vet too so he can have a check up incase of worms and stuff too. I read if they are caught in the wild their is a good chance he could have them. I give him baths when i am done with all my work pet grooming. And i always check his poop and have not seen anything. But still gonna have him checked out.

stinax182

5 Year Member
Springfield, Massachusetts
many people use filtered water for their pets, it definitely won't hurt. but your tort will be perfectly happy with tap water. and glass tanks are good for small tortoises because of the available sizes...i suppose if they made 4x6 aquariums they'd be good for larger torts.......i can't tell from your picture if you have a baby or adult.

Donatello